Railway Routes

Cavan & Leitrim Line

C & L Carriage pic 2

The line consisted of a main line 54km (34mls) long between Dromod and Belturbet with a 24 km (15mls) branch from Ballinamore to Arigna. The Belturbet to Dromod part of the Cavan and Leitrim Railway ran from Belturbet through:

  • Tomkin Road
  • Ballyconnell
  • Ballyheady
  • Bawnboy Road
  • Killyran
  • Garadice
  • Ballinamore
  • Lawderdale
  • Fenagh
  • Adoon
  • Rosharry
  • Mohill
  • Dereen
  • Dromod.

The Belturbet to Arigna part of the line ran from Belturbet to Ballinamore and from there through Ballyduff, Cornabrone, Annadale, Kiltubrid, Creagh and Drumshanbo to Arigna.